Minggu, 02 November 2008


The "Republic of the Equator" was one of three countries that emerged from the collapse of Gran Colombia in 1830 (the others being Colombia and Venezuela). Between 1904 and 1942, Ecuador lost territories in a series of conflicts with its neighbors. A border war with Peru that flared in 1995 was resolved in1999. Ecuador lies nestled in the Andes Mountains with Colombia to the north and Peru to the south. It is on the Equator from which it derives its name. The jungles of the Amazon basin lie inland to the east whilst the western coastline is on the Pacific Ocean. The Galapagos Islands also belong to Ecuador. The country is split into three main geographical regions - the eastern jungle, the central Andean mountains and the western coastal zone

0 komentar:



Design by Amanda @ Blogger Buster